Young woman

Request additional information about Lanterman services (3 years of age and older), including applying, from an Intake Specialist

Regional Center eligibility criteria are defined by law, in Section 4512 of the California Welfare and Institutions Code.

Diagnoses that may qualify a person for Regional Center services include the following developmental disabilities:

  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Epilepsy
  • Conditions closely related to, or that require treatment similar to, that required for an intellectual disability

In addition, to qualify for Regional Center services, a person’s developmental disability must:

  • originate prior to age 18
  • be expected to continue indefinitely
  • be a substantial disability as defined by Title 17, Section 54001 of the California Code of Regulations, meaning the person experiences significant limitations in three or more of the following areas:
    • self-care
    • language
    • learning
    • mobility
    • self-direction
    • capacity for independent living
    • economic self-sufficiency

(This definition does not include any handicapping condition that is solely psychiatric, solely a learning disability, or solely physical in nature.) 

In addition to meeting eligibility criteria, to qualify for services through the Regional Center of Orange County the individual must reside in Orange County. If the individual lives in a county other than Orange, you can find the local Regional Center using this directory.

For more information on the next steps after eligibility is determined, please visit our Frequently Asked Questions. 



Video Series: Determining Eligibility (Ages 3 and Older)
English Español Tiếng Việt
Part 1 Part 1 Part 1
Part 2 Part 2 Part 2
Part 3 Part 3 Part 3